An Unfinished Business Of The Morning

Saw this neat pile of small gift-wrapped boxes, for the first time a few days ago in my morning walk. And, there they were yesterday too. 

It was at the entry to a women’s salon on a main road busy all day with pedestrians.

The pile remained undisturbed!! Felt good – ours must be topping the table for suburbs with most honest folks!!!

During the day, out of sheer curiosity, I went back. I had to…

It was a working hour and the salon was open with a private security guard standing outside – the business must be good or it was a smuggler’s front for hoarding contraband gold!

I went in past the main gate. The guard, alerted, rushed to and held the glass door open for me. Nice of him.

Immediately I ruled out the smuggler’s angle. Who else but a ‘fresher’ would take a 70+ man having difficulty with his balance, unaccompanied, not appearing to be a vendor or a policeman, for a prospective customer to a women’s salon? Smugglers don’t trust ‘freshers’, the movies tell us.

Wanting to set the record straight, I nodded my head a couple of times from left to right, leaving him completely confused. Read his mind: Who else would I be? Didn’t look a beggar (no bowl in hand) , a funds-collector (no leaflets to hand out), canvasser (elections still months away), or an alzhiemer affected. Or father to a girl working or worked upon therein?

Went up to him and said in a low voice: “I have a question for you.” 

Looking at me a little more closely, he stepped back a little, considered and dismissed with disappointment the possibility I was from local TV station. There was no mic in my hand or a van with a dish (antenna) standing nearby.

Confusion deepened. This was not his morning. Giving up on his line of guesses, he lobbed at me a well-mannered ‘What is it?’ – a difficult thing to do, believe me, to be well-mannered, I mean, after all the exertions he had gone thru – I belong to the tribe that does not balk at giving credit where it is due.

I observed: “I’m surprised why someone from the street has not taken off with a box or two.”

Looking for some enlightenment, I was served: “Because they are empty!”

Now it was my turn to be confused: “Empty, did u say?”

“Yes, saheb, you heard me right.”

Lord Emsworth would have cried, “That’s dashed rummy,” or something to that effect.

I quizzed: “Then, why are they not in a waste bin instead where they rightly belong?”

It was obvious he had not thought of it.

“Will be back tomorrow. Let me know if there is a reason.”

Needed to ask one more thing, more intriguing.  Pressing on like a hound on scent: “How would any outsider know the boxes are empty?”

Arre, saheb, why are you making fun of me? If a box is taken in hand and given a shake, wont the rattle give away? And, simply by the heft…”

Smarter than I had taken him for!! But the matter on hand remained unresolved as ever. I pointed out a few dried tree-leaves dropped on the pile and a chunri like cloth, lying in place undisturbed all these days.

He understood what I was getting at – obviously it was getting a bit more complex.

Leaving the hapless fellow to deal with it, I turned around and walked out.

End

6 Responses to An Unfinished Business Of The Morning

  1. S R Kannan says:

    Could you find the reason? Please do not leave us in suspense.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. theotheri says:

    Like me, you have learned many different cultural differences that exist around the world. But now you are faced with something so puzzling in your very own neighborhood. I’m experiencing something similar as I have returned to Michigan in mid-east America where I originally grew up.

    I look forward to hearing not only what these boxes mean, but what more you will do to find the answer. Terry

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Are the boxes metaphors for those things in life we perceive as treasure turn out to be empty nothings ?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment