The making of a politician

A father told his three sons when he sent them to the university: “I believe it’s my duty to provide you with the best possible education, and you do not owe me anything for that. Howev…

Source: Wednesday Funny: The making of a politician

8 Responses to The making of a politician

  1. theotheri says:

    I went to the source to read the rest of this post and it made me laugh out loud. Perhaps it’s because I come from a family of lawyers?

    Like

  2. tskraghu says:

    Very often the good ones are on stereotypes of some kind. Couldn’t resist grabbing this piece – it’s something I havent come across so far.

    Have a few lawyers on my wife’s side.

    Like

    • theotheri says:

      We have just had a death in my extended family, so I am waiting a bit. But after a respectful respite, I am going to send this post on to my family. I dare say I’m not the only one who will recognize ourselves. We always called it “Jesuitical thinking,” but that is perhaps unfair. (Don’t ask if I mean I think it’s unfair to lawyers or Jesuits (: )

      Liked by 1 person

      • tskraghu says:

        I’m sorry you’ve suffered a bereavement.

        Thanks to you, I looked up and learnt about religious orders and Jesuits among them. And that’s not all – there’s a large collection of jokes compiled about Jesuits (may be there is an equal number about other orders). Of course a good lot of them is known for sometime now though under diff labels. And this piece of humor also appears with the protagonist as a Jesuit! May be that’s why ‘Jesuit thinking’?

        Liked by 1 person

      • theotheri says:

        Yes, what we meant by “Jesuitical thinking” was the capacity to present an apparently intelligent, reasonable argument that supported the answer that was personally most beneficial to the person presenting the argument. Oh, and sometimes we were embarrassingly good at it.

        Yes, it could have been one of us (symbolically-speaking, of course) or a “Jesuit” who wrote the check and took the cash from the coffin. After all, it makes perfect sense, doesn’t it? Nobody was cheated. Everybody benefitted.

        Liked by 1 person

      • tskraghu says:

        Thanks. Learnt a few things new today:-)

        Like

  3. rajinani says:

    Nice one Raghu. Thanks for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

