The Girl Who Can Do Everything…Almost

 

Well, a lot of it, quite beyond me in three score and eight years I’ve seen yet!

This delightful piece is from Aditi Krishnan (11), quite appropriate for International Women’s Day.

Here we go:

girl Caricatura-de-una-chica-soriendo-300px

 

Past the stars, and through the galaxy lies a planet called Flurp

And on this planet, there lives a very special girl, named Kurp

 

Now Kurp is a very special girl, for what you can think, she can do

And what you can do, she can too, but much better than you!

 

She can wiggle her nose and touch her toes

And count how far? Who knows?

 

She’ll win any game, has amazing aim,

She can perfectly hang a frame

 

She can touch the sky, she can twitch her eye

She can even fly! Who knows how high!

 

She can blow a balloon, she’ll bend a spoon

She can even play the bassoon!

 

Although there is one thing, Kurp just cannot do

She asks, ” How, oh how, do you tie a shoe?”

 

“You take the laces and tie a knot”

“Which lace? What knot? I think it got caught!”

 

“I can never do it! I will never do it!”

“Definitely not, just not if you quit”

 

“No! I will quit! You shall watch me!”

 “But that will not help, you see?”

 

“So… if I try and try, and try once more…”

“And I keep trying until my arms are sore…”

 

“Then I will be able to do a whole lot!!!”

“Ok, so you take the laces and tie a knot…”

 

“And make the loops, and tie them too!”

“I did it! I did it! There’s nothing I can’t do!”

 

“I can….. win any race, I can dance through space,”

“And now I can tie my shoe lace!”

 

“I can fix any leak, I can hop through a creek,”

“And I’m amazing at hide-and seek!”

 

“I can beautifully sing, jump high as a spring,”

“I can do anything!”

 

`End

 

 

 

Source: openclipart (knollbaco)

 

3 Responses to The Girl Who Can Do Everything…Almost

  1. Buvana says:

    Superb! Congrats Aditi and well done!

    Like

  2. Nithya says:

    Inspired by Dr. Seuss 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

