Moan’day Mirth

School Reunion

My name is Mary, and I was sitting in the waiting room for my first appointment with a new dentist.

I noticed his DDS diploma on the wall, which bore his full name. Suddenly, I remembered a tall, handsome, dark-haired boy with the same name had been in my high school class some 30-odd years ago.

Could he be the same guy that I had a secret crush on, way back then?

Upon seeing him, however, I quickly discarded any such thought.

This balding, gray-haired man with the deeply lined face was way too old to have been my classmate.

After he examined my teeth, I asked him if he had attended Morgan Park High School.

Yes. Yes, I did. I’m a Mustang,’ he gleamed with pride.

When did you graduate?’ I asked.

He answered, ‘in 1975. Why do you ask?’

You were in my class!’ I exclaimed.

He looked at me closely.

Then, that ugly,

old,

balding,

wrinkled faced,

fat-assed,

gray-haired,

decrepit

son-of-a-bitch

asked,

“What did you teach?”

.
Soul Food

“No-one ever listened themselves out of a job.” (Calvin Coolidge)

“The true voyage of discovery lies not in seeking new landscapes, but in having new eyes.” (Marcel Proust)

“It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.” (Harry S Truman)

.
Wiki has this about Harry Truman:

Harry S Truman was the 33rd U.S. President between 1945 and 1953, during the tumultuous periods of WW II and the following cold-war era. When he left White House, his job approval ratings were lower than Richard Nixon’s! Later, after his death, he emerged as a kind of political folk hero, a president who was thought to exemplify an integrity and accountability. Once Truman left the White House, his only income was his old army pension: $112.56 per month with no personal savings due to a failed business venture. Truman did not wish to be on any corporate payroll, believing that taking advantage of such financial opportunities would diminish the integrity of the nation’s highest office. He also turned down numerous offers for commercial endorsements. Much later the US Congress approved a $25,000 yearly pension to each former president, and it is said that Truman’s financial status played a role in the law’s enactment.

Reminds us of our own Lal Bahadur Shastri, Kamaraj or Kakkan standing like giants towering over the unabashedly self-aggrandizing Lilliputian leaders (?) of today. Up there, perhaps the mould has cracked up and no longer in use?

End

.
Sources: Grateful thanks to fellowshipofminds.wordpress.com, businessballs.com, openclipart.org, sethgodin.typepad.com, Idea Champions.com, claudiansalvana.blogspot.in and Wiki.

5 Responses to Moan’day Mirth

  1. That is too funny! And started out with a great name, too, “Moan-day.” Thanks!
    And the quote by Truman is so very wise. Something I need to remind MYself of on a daily basis, I’m sure.

    Like

    • tskraghu says:

      So true in both corporate and personal life. It’s nice to recharge oneself from time to time with words such as this. Am glad u liked it. Thanks.

      Like

  2. Sharmishtha says:

    wicked man! 🙂

    Like

  3. sharmishtha says:

    shubho nabobarsho! May God bless you with every thing you want, wanted and may want!

    God bless you now and forever my dear friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

