The World’s Shortest Story With Happy Ending

I can’t quite recall where I read this one or who told me – the world’s shortest story with happy ending! Before ‘penning’ it down, I googled to see if it turns up so I could credit the source appropriately or if there are other contenders for the honor.

One that kept coming up was the familiar:

Once upon a time, a guy asked a girl ‘Will you marry me?’

The girl said, ‘NO!’

So… they lived happily ever after.

Another one, playing on the same theme:

Some people ask the secret of our long marriage…

We take time to go to a restaurant two times a week…

A little candlelight, dinner, soft music and dancing…

She goes Tuesdays, I go Fridays…

I’m sure there may be others out there I’ve failed to spot.

Also the one that I had heard did not pop up. Here it is:

Asked for the shortest story with happy ending, a Zen master responded with:

‘He died. His son died. His son died.’

There are three endings in the story!

And making it morbid three times over, I thought.

Well, how then are they happy endings?

The master had explained this was the happiest ending ever possible. Any different ending would not be a happy one.

It meant a son dying before his father’s time.

I did not argue. Of course you may.

End

15 Responses to The World’s Shortest Story With Happy Ending

  1. vivinfrance says:

    All good endings. Now, please may we have a tsraghu original?

    Like

  2. Bodhirose says:

    Loved these…thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. Morning says:

    it is sad that one son has to die.
    powerful emotions captured in your story.

    Happy New Year.

    Like

  4. Thanks so much for a big smile and for linking to Write2Day. Have a wonderful 2012.

    Like

  5. zongrik says:

    zen solutions are so simplistic but ture

    ornamented joshua

    Like

  6. Grins for the “She goes Tuesdays” one!

    Like

  7. Sharmishtha says:

    brilliant stories. 🙂

    happy new year! Wish you a wonderful, beautiful year ahead. full of blessings and happiness.

    Like

  8. Sanjay says:

    I like that you have included stories only with ‘happy endings’, especially the one where “…she said ‘No’, so they lived happily ever after”. Hemingway is credited with writing the shortest story – in six words. But it does not have a happy ending. It goes: For sale, baby shoes, never used.

    Like

  9. tskraghu says:

    Nice to have you back here, Sanjay.

    Like

Leave a comment