We Don’t Do Without A Reason



It was around seven in the evening. Just outside the front-door I heard a dull ‘thud’ and a series of them in slow succession. I opened the door; and I saw on the common landing the Princess and one of her little twin brothers – I could never make out one from the other. Returning from play on the grounds below, I guessed. They were kicking the door of the adjoining flat with their feet, first with left and then with right, interspersed with real or mock shows and sounds of hurt. The little fellow, turning to me, lost his rhythm and his sandals flew off causing him to stumble. Luckily no harm done.

I  said gently to the Princess whom I am always fond of: ‘Nice kids like you don’t kick the doors like that, right?’

She screwed up her cute little face to me and posed: ‘How would they know we’re here?’ Her hand and fingers pointed to the door and beyond.

I was for a moment struggling to connect up the dots.

Seeing the puzzled look on my face, she was all seriousness in putting me to wise: ‘It’s way up there. We can’t reach the bell, no?’

The ’Ah’ moment: Yes, there was no knocker or bolt to strike within the reach of the three footer!

Something I had never thought of.

I gently closed the door with a sheepish smile as I saw their door open.

End

2 Responses to We Don’t Do Without A Reason

  1. Kannan says:

    Simplistic story but the Title. A reader may miss that.

    Like

  2. trisha says:

    cute story 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

