A Bird’s Eye-View

…It’s another day yet. The window panels open up. I fly in and perch on the air-conditioner sitting at the window. If I get here ahead of others in my flock, I’ll manage a few extra grains of chana. There he is folding back the mosquito net fixed on the window and he stretches out a handful of chana. He spreads out on the top of the air-conditioner. He pulls out and comes back with a second handful of chana. I quickly start pecking away just as I see others blowing in. From behind the net, he’s watches us for a minute jostling for advantage and withdraws into the room to read the morning papers.

It’s another day yet. The window panels open up. I fly in and perch on the air-conditioner sitting at the window. He is comfortably lost behind the newspaper. I flutter my wings and strut in front of him. I can’t tell you about the rhythmic sound I played out because there is no word to describe it in English (that’s true). ‘Cooing’ is not what I do despite what they say about us. He looks up, puts the paper down and fetches chana. It’s two handfuls. Can’t he see there are so many of us? An extra handful would help.

It’s another day yet. The window panels open up. I fly in and perch on the air-conditioner sitting at the window. The two handfuls of chana are spread out already before I could get here. He is in great spirits. I understand from his talk on his cell phone, he got a substantial pay-hike at his place of work. Couldn’t he celebrate with a bit of jaggery thrown in for us with the chana?

It’s another day yet. The window panels open up. I fly in and perch on the air-conditioner sitting at the window. There’s no movement I could discern. I pick up courage and get nearer to the window and peer inside the room. He is lying on his bed with some piece of cloth on his forehead. He looks tired to me. I’m silent and preparing to leave. He sees me and signals to his wife. What do I see now? Three handfuls are daintily laid out! I get busy. We get busy. And we take off.

It’s another day yet. The window panels open up. I fly in and perch on the air-conditioner sitting at the window. What would it be? Two handfulls or three? Three handfulls or two? Whatever…

One Response to A Bird’s Eye-View

  1. CU says:

    Life & expectations..every life form have it isnt it,bird ,humans..
    All along I thought expectation becomes a Want & then as a demand in case of Humans..But , from your post,it seems,its the same in case of birds too

    TC
    CU

    Like

Leave a Reply

